The National Prayer Committee (NPC) was founded in 1979, and has given birth to many united prayer initiatives, both in the United States and within other nations (especially through its development of the International Prayer Assembly). The NPC actually began as a subcommittee on prayer at the International Congress on World Evangelization held in Lausanne, Switzerland. Out of the Lausanne gathering came the U.S. Lausanne Committee, now Mission America, and America’s National Prayer Committee. Members of both Mission America and the NPC adhere to the Lausanne Covenant.

The current Chairman of the NPC is David Butts, founder and president of Harvest Prayer Ministries. Previous Chairmen have included NPC founder, Mrs. Vonette Bright, Co-Founder of Campus Crusade for Christ International, Dick Eastman, International President for Every Home for Christ, and David Bryant of Proclaim Hope!.

The NPC fosters a number of projects including the Taskforce on Theological Education, Pray! Magazine, the Denominational Prayer Leaders Network, and others.

Members consist of leaders from a wide spectrum of the Church. Primary oversight and direction of the business side of NPC activities is entrusted to the Executive Committee.